h1

RELEASES! Dark shadows (2012) | BASIC CLASSICS! Stage door (1937)

May 15, 2012

Sorry for the delay but the cinema post are here. This weekend has been the release of Tim Burton’s comeback. During nineties, Burton was one of the most exiting directors in Hollywood but, unfortunately, his last works has been very disappointing. He is the creator of memorable films like Edward Scissorhands (1993), Ed Wood (1994) or Sleepy Hollow (1999), beautiful modern horror masterworks. This new film about vampires does not look very good but a film directed by Burton is going to have something different. And, if you want to know what a brilliant comedy is, you must to go to Filmoteca Española on Sunday; Stage door is a sample of the Golden Age of American Cinema.

RELEASES! Dark Shadows (2012)

Tim Burton loves monsters with emotions, different people with particular characters, tormented souls… And everything with a magic touch and some kind of gothic tasted. Her style is very accurate, we can not forget that he is an author and a lot of fans go to the cinema waiting for his personal cinematographic sight. Dark Shadows is a vampire story starring Johnny Deep and Michelle Pfeiffer that it could not be a masterwork but can be entertaining.

Dark Shadows [Sombras Tenebrosas]-2012  Directed by Tim Burton

Screenplay: Seth Grahame-Smith (Characters: Dan Curtis)

Cast: Johnny Deep, Michelle Pfeiffer, Helena Bonham-Carter, Chloe Grace Moretz, Eva Green, Christopher Lee, Alice Cooper

Genre: Comedy | Horror | Fantastic

Length: 112 min.

Synopsis: An imprisoned vampire, Barnabas Collins, is set free and returns to his ancestral home, where his dysfunctional descendants are in need of his protection.IMDb

Entertainment Weekly has written:

http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20483133_20587645,00.html

Theatrical Trailer (VOSE):

BASIC CLASSICS! Stage Door (1937)

Gregory La Cava is well-known because is one of the directors associated with an elegant and refined Hollywood films during 30s-40s like George Cukor, Ernst Lubitsch or Howard Hawks. This films is about the world of theatre and performance starring Katherine Hepburn and Ginger Rogers. This movie is included in a excellent cycle about “The most important films in the cinema history”.

Cine Doré (Filmoteca Española), Santa Isabel 3 [Metro: Antón Martín]
On Sunday, 20th.  17:30 h. Sala 1. VOSE. Price: 2’5 €. (2 € reduced)

Stage Door [Damas del teatro]-1937  Directed by Gregory La Cava

Screenplay: Morrie Ryskind & Anthony Veiller

Cast: Katherine Hepburn, Ginger Rogers, Adolphe Menjou, Andrea Leeds, Lucille Ball

Genre: Comedy | Theatre

Length: 92 min.

Synopsis: A boardinghouse full of aspiring actresses and their ambitions, dreams and disappointments.IMDb

The New York Times has written:

http://movies.nytimes.com/movie/review?res=EE05E7DF173CE170BC4053DFB667838C629EDE

Scene of the film (VO):


9 comments

  1. I used to be a great fan of Tim Burton’s films. Then, I started to know -and love- German cinema of the twenties, and Universal classic horror films, and I found out the deal of things he has copied, or from he had got his inspiration. The way in which Barnabas Collins, in this film, leaves this coffin, was the same in which Nosferatu the Vampire did the same in Murnau’s film. Edward Scissorshands was a clone of Cesare the Sleepwalker, the sonnambuslist in The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari, but very ligthened and syruped. And Sleepy Hollow recalled strongly the look of films like The Student of Prague. The crooked sets of her fantastic films seem to have been taken from The Golem or Waxworks. Burton’s cinema has became very self-complacent, always doing the same things and showing the same things. But even so, is refreshing, because he is one of the very few filmakers of our days who has a recognizable style, and certain personality. It’s commercial, but poetical, which is not very common. This film, Dark Shadows, is particullary inspired in a TV series of the seventies, directed by Dan Curtis, who made also one of the best (and most scaring) adaptations of Dracula that I have ever seen.

    The Gregory La Cava film, I haven’t seen, but it was one of the first apperances of that great actress called Kathe Hepburn (not Audrey). If you are a fan, you shouldn’t miss this.


  2. Yes, I totally agree with you, Rosa. I liked Tim Burton but now he makes uninspired movies. I loved the characters (I read his book The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy!), I love his usual composer (Danny Elfmann) and until the middle of the last decade I had seen all his movies but I’m very disappointed with it. Nevertheless, it is one of the most original directors in Hollywood, an industry known for making films very similar.
    We’ll always Gregory La Cava.
    PD. I’ll be in France this weekend, so I’ll be a bit missing.We discuss next week!


  3. You are lucky! Nice trip to you!


  4. Edward Scissorhands is my favourite film of Burton´s. I still love the soundtrack very much, deliciously Christmasy… I didn´t know Edward was a clone of a character in The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari! I shall watch it soon. I quite like Big Fish too, a very original movie and a story very well told, in my opinion.
    As to Burton´s recent movies, I didn´t like Alice in Wonderland at all.


  5. Well, not exactly a clone, but clearly inspired…Only that this one (Cesare) is, in my opinion, more complex and with a rather darker backgrounds… (and check the character of Dr. Caligari, who looks very like The Penguin in Batman Returns…)Clearly, with Edward Scissorshands, Burton took his inspirations from the visuals of the German films, and the horror films made by Roger Corman (other main influence in Burton’s style) during the sixties with Vincent Price, who was also in Edward Scissorhands (in fact, this was his last film) , and told a story which was a sort of crossover of Frankenstein and Pinocchio. The last film of Tim Burton that I saw was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and I didn’t like it. The old version, with Gene Wilder was much better.

    My favourite Burton’s film is Ed Wood. Hillarious. Great. Never Jonnhy Depp has done a better performace as the disastrous filmaker who was considered the worst director in cinema’s history. He does poorly all what he does, he goes with bums, he is totally crazy, he is tacky, he is cheap, he is pathetical…but even so, he is very sympathetic, because he absolutely believes in what he does, and does fully. And, in spite all the difficults he finds in his way, he never quites, he is loyal to his friends, he is willing to do everything for the sake of his films. I strongly recommend this one.


  6. Check this article about Tim Burton’s films:

    http://fama2.us.es/fco/frame/new_portal/textos/num3/TIMBURTONYELEXPRESIONISMO.pdf


  7. Thanks for the link Rosa. I liked Ed Wood as well, but not as much… I rather like romanticism! (jokes)
    I’ve seen Dark Shadows and liked it. It’s original in the way it’s made, the soundtrack is not all original though, as usual, which was sort of disappointing as I always look forward to it, especially. Johnny looks even nice as a vampire… I like Johnny, there is something in him that I like, not matter the role. I think it is because he is full of charisma. I like that in a man, charisma, strengh of character, and also, he makes me laugh; there is something in his expression, his manner, his way of adressing others, that makes me laugh. The movie itself is not a masterpiece at all, it is just entertaining, as Antonio foresaw. THe storyline is perhaps quite typical, but it is as if it wasn’t taken seriously, almost like a joke, if you see what I mean. There is a very funny scene where Barnabas, the vampire, is hanging around with a bunch of flipping hippies (it is in the 70s), smoking joints, where after all the conversation about love and the flower power, he says: and now I shall kill you. It’s not dramatic, rather funny!
    Which is dreadful is Michelle Pffeifer’s look. Gosh, how disgusting. She used to be pretty and now she’s a monster and it was not even required by the script as she plays a human being… Botox makes not people beautiful! When are they gonna learn?


  8. It’s always nice to read your posts, María. I wanted to watch this film, but, since this very morning I read a very bad critic of this film, and I have spent too much money this month, and I am very busy, I was not going to go. Well, I supose I have to wait if I want to wacht this…

    Johnny Depp was great in Ed Wood, the best performance in his whole carreer. I don’t understant they didn’t even nominate him to the Oscars for this role, and they did for Pirates of the Caribbean. His last films don’t look very well, so I didn’t even bother myself in going to watch them (The Tourist, The Pirates…) They say that in The Rhum Diaries he is great, but I don’t know…I have the feeling that, recently, he only makes faces, rather than acting… There was a time in which he was in all the “indie” films. Now he is more a star and a eccentric guy more than an actor, that’s what I feel…


  9. yeah, I think you are right… He is more of a face than of an actor, lately. He is good at the Pirates though, and Jeoffrey Rush too. THe rest of the cast is only tolerable, let alone Penelope Cruz… I´ve seen the Rum Diaries and I don´t think he is great. He is ok. He just drinks and drinks and drinks, little investigation, little journalism, just takes a couple of photos here and there… The other guy´s English, uncomprehensible. It was very frustrating, because I couldn´t understand his part and he is the second main character… Perhaps I was very tired when I watched it….



Leave a Reply

