h1

RELEASES! Moneyball (2011) | BASIC CLASSICS! The Deer Hunter (1978)

January 31, 2012

RELEASES: We were going to have a British release, a film called Tyranossaur but it has been delayed (on March) so, the most interesting release of the weekend is Moneyball, the  new Aaron Sorkin’s screenplay. He is the creator of the famous tv series The West Wing [El ala oeste de la Casa Blanca] and won a Oscar prize in 2010 for the screenplay of the film The Social Network [La Red Social]. Starring Brad Pitt, it is a film about baseball directed by Bennett Miller who had a great success in 2005 with a biopic about Truman Capote (called like the journalist/writer).  Philip Seymour Hoffman has a role in the film. This movie is nominated for Oscars in important major categories like Best Film or Best Actor in Supporting role (Brad Pitt).

Moneyball [Moneyball: Rompiendo las reglas]-2011 Directed by Bennett Miller
Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, Steven Zaillian (Novel: Michael Lewis)
Cast: Brad Pitt, Jonah Hill, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Robin Wright Penn, Chris Pratt, Kathryn Morris, Tammy Blanchard, Glenn Morshower, Erin Pickett, Sergio Garcia, Jack McGee
Genre: Drama | Sports | Based on real events
Length: 133 min.
Synopsis: The story of Oakland A’s general manager Billy Beane’s successful attempt to put together a baseball club on a budget by employing computer-generated analysis to draft his players.IMDb.

Trailer (VOSE):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMYjmtO7yzA

Rolling Stone has written:
http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/reviews/moneyball-20110922

BASIC CLASSICS: There are a lot of important films on the Filmoteca screen this mounth but we could see a beautiful film called The Deer Hunter [El Cazador] in Círculo de Bellas Artes, another interesting and chip screen. This is a good representative sample of the excelent Hollywood filmography on seventies, another golden age where American cinema had been influenced by European masters (Fellini, Godard, Truffaut, Buñuel, Pasolini…) getting a suberb decade plains of masterpieces by Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, William Friedkin, Robert Altman, Francis Ford Coppola… This film is an intense travel around the Vietnam’s nightmare, with a good cast where we could see one of the best perfomances of Robert de Niro and Christopher Walken (and a very young Meryl Streep!). It is long but is good.

The Deer Hunter [El Cazador]-1978 Directed by Michael Cimino
Screenplay: Deric Washburn (Story: Deric Washburne, Michael Cimino)
Cast: Robert De Niro, John Cazale, Christopher Walken, Meryl Streep, John Savage, John Cazale, Amy Wright
Genre: Drama | War
Length: 182 min.
Synopsis: An in-depth examination of the way that the Vietnam war affects the lives of people in a small industrial town in the USA.IMDb.

Cine Círculo de Bellas Artes
Alcalá, 42 Metro Station: Banco de España / Sevilla
VOSE. Price: 5 €. (Normal), 3.40 €. (Reduced)
Saturday: 04.02.12 • 21:15
Sunday: 05.02.12 • 17:00

Trailer (VO):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gqit3zVmyc&feature=related

Variety has written:
http://www.variety.com/review/VE1117790336/

29 comments

  1. Hello!
    Antonio, I really like the blog and the way you organize the posts. I do not usually go to see releases because when I go to the cinema is just to watch the film and that is very difficult in these days. I know that there are cinemas like the Verdi´s which I suppose people are quite but I actually prefer the Filmoteca.
    I agree with you about Filmotecas´programme this month. I recommend the season of Nicholas Ray´s.
    Finally, I saw many years ago “The deer hunter” and I didn´t like very much although the cast was wonderful. I remember the film very sad. I agree with what you say about movie directors of the seventies. There is an interesting book of this age: “Moteros tranquilos, toros salvajes”. It is written by Peter Biskind and published by Anagrama. I enjoyed a lot the book!
    That´s all!


  2. I haven’t seen this film (The Deer Hunter, El cazador). Perhaps I will go there…

    Thank you for your information.


  3. I LOVE THE DEER HUNTER!!!! Amazing story and amazing cast! You definetely cannot miss it


  4. Nicholas Ray! Fantastic filmaker, indeed, and largely forgotten today, or, at less, not as much remembered as he would deserve.Some of my favourite films are by Nicholas Ray. In my opinion, one of those “maudit” directors. “They live by night”, “Rebel without a cause”, “Johnny Guitar” (a masterpiece!), Fifty-five days at Peking, are films that you shouldn’t miss. If you can not watch all the cicle, don’t let pass They live by nigth (an almost unknown but extremely good film) and Johnny Guitar, the most weird, atypical and marvellous western in all the history of films (if we don’t count Fritz Lang’s Rancho Notorious and Marlon Brando One-Eyed Jacks ).


  5. Hello, Mar, I have read the Biskind’s book, it is so funny and addictive!
    The Nicholas Ray cycle at the Filmoteca is very interesting, he has an extense fimography but this is only a sample. “Johnny Guitar” is an absolute masterpiece. I will recommend it later.
    The Deer hunter is a good film but I prefer “Taxi Driver” (Scorsese), “Jaws” (Spielberg) or “Three women” (Altman). There are a lot of marvelous movies on seventies in Hollywood. An unrepeatable decade better than eighties.


  6. Good morning:

    If you liked “Johnny Guitar”, perhaps you should check “They lived by nigth”.
    In my opinion, the seventies were not a very good decade in cinema. Hollywood was put in a very deep depression and the society was experimenting dramatic changes. But it’s true that some very good films were made then. Along the filmes that you mentioned, you should have put “The Godfather”, “Star Wars”, “Cabaret” and “The Sleuth”.


  7. Rosa, I think that seventies were a good decade in cinema in USA (I am not talking about society o politic) because it is the begining of the more important Hollywood filmmakers of our time, a genial brand with Spielberg, Altman, Lucas, Scorsese, Lynch, Ford Coppola…. They changed the Hollywood way to make cinema and their influence to this day.


  8. Of course. But they did also lots and lots of trash, and it was also a very difficult moment for the Hollywood industries. The audiences were not the same, the TV was a strong competence, the young people were beggining in lacking their interest about cinema, most of the great directors had died or were into retirement, there was a strong competence with cinema of other countries, that then it began to have a wider distribution, they had a very strong economical depression whose effects were very negative for the entertainment industries, the great studios didn’t have many good ideas, the star-system didn’t exist anylonger…But the directors that you mention were important, because they renewed the Hollywood cinema, and were an interesting generation whose influence lasts till today.


  9. I totally agree with you, Rosa, but if there is a destroyed filmography at the seventies this is Italian. Americans reworked their celluloid universe but Italians put fire to their cinema. There were so good…


  10. Well, I don’t know. I have read that, in Italy, sixties and seventies were the golden age of what is called “giallo” (with directors like Mario Bava, Dario Argento or Lucio Fulci), a kind of films derived from thrillers and horror films with lots of blood, gore and sex. I do not like this kind of films at all, but it has became very popular in the last years and many critics praise it. I haven’t seen any giallo, and I don’t think I would like to watch any of them. I have not even been able to see Dario Argento’s version of the Phantom of the Opera (which is considered by “phans” the worst Phantom film even done…you see, the guy is not even disfigured and he has sex with rats!). Better not to talk about the Spanish case (Garci and Saura and Erice did some good films,though)… So, I think that, after all, you are rigth, altough I thougth that Visconti still did some films during the seventies.

    Good nigth


  11. I´ve seen The Tree of Life. I cannot remember in which thread we were talking about it, so I will post it here.

    Someone said the film was weird, but I found it BRILLIANT. It is different from any other film I´ve seen. It is more like a painting, like a moving piece of art.

    The story is so intimate that moved me and made me cry! It relates the course of life from the very beginning, from creation to nowadays. The message is fantastic. At the beginning the audience is exposed to make a choice. “Men have to choose between the way of Nature or the way of Grace”. How beautiful! It is about how man shapes himself through life, according to moral principles (Grace) or to a mere instict of surviving (Nature): the choice. Or maybe about the choice between living our life or pass through it? What do those who have seen it think?

    The film reminded me of Jane Eyre -I may be obsessed!-. One of the major topics in the novel has to do with religion as well as the film. Jane undergoes an internal conflict between ethical duties (Grace) and pleasures of the world (Nature). Throughout the book, Jane is influenced to a certain extent by the beliefs the religious people she encounters. Helen Burns says: “the Bible bids us return good for evil”. But in the film it is said that “God gives and takes away. That´s what He is like”. Helen´ death is as unjust as the boy´s in the film. The same as Jane, his mother asks “Where is God? What is God? Where were you [that you didn´t save my son]?”. This shows how people search for a stand in religion, don´t you agree?

    THe film also reminded me of Mr. Brocklehust, when he claims curly hair is also among indulging in earthly pleasures and exclaims: “Naturally! Yes, but we are not to conform to nature” -we need to “shape” ourselves- “I wish these girls to be the children of Grace” -we have to improve ourselves to be worthy of God. Brad Pitt could be Mr. Brocklehurst with his severe religious beliefs and way of up-bringing.

    I found this film brilliant. Maybe because I saw it very connected to life itself. The way we perform in life and the “divine injustice” that “punishes” us without any apparent reason -or maybe with a consistant reason which would make the punishment JUST-. I mean, we put the blame on God when we suffer… or question his kindness when we see disgrace and injustice of all sort in the world…

    DOn´t you find it very clever??? Gosh, I´ve written an essay!


  12. Good evening:

    Well, María, this is pretty interesting indeed! Altough you are the only person that I know who says that The Tree of Life is interesting, and has liked it. As I said, a friend of mine who knows a lot of cinema went to watch it and he came out the cinema before the film ended, something that he never does. I assume that, when you refer to Jane Eyre, you mean the book, not the film. I think that what you say about Mr Brocklehurst could be applied to Mr Rivers, even more if the character is played by Brad Pitt, an actor that I don’t like, but that perhaps I should revisit him (the only performance of his that I have liked was in Sleepers). Mr Rivers was the cold perfection, something over human, terrible, something ascetic which aspires to be divine, by denying his own nature. The Mr Rivers character had some positive things, but Mr Brocklehurst character had none. But I have liked your commentary.

    Have a nice weekend.


  13. By the way, if you are interested in the “circle of life” type films, perhaps you should watch Akira Kurosawa’s Ikiru (“To live”). I am not very fond of this kind of stories, but this one is very good. Set in the contemporary Japan, the film is about a man who is dieing of cancer and who bears a bad relationship whith his family.


  14. Well,perhaps if I liked it that much it is because I didn´t expect it to be any good! And also because now I find myself always looking for any kind of connections, which is becoming quite an obsession… and when I finally find the connection -sometimes out of my own free interpretation- I get joyful and like things even better than I would otherwise. I would like to know the reasons why your friend left the room. I mean, it is a very strange film, beyond current conventions I guess, and you have to be “in the mood”… But all in all, I find the film quite bearable. The music I loved. The Lacrimosa almost makes me cry and Smetana with his Moldava River… all very suitable to describe the creation. When I studied Music when a child, Moldava River was my favourite piece because I could really see how the river was born and then was freely flowing…
    Anyway, now that you mention it, Brad Pitt would have actually been a very good St. John Rivers (more than mister, Rosa, he was a Saint! je je) in the new version of Jane Eyre! Definetely a better one than Billy Elliot, who is not handsome at all and who doesn´t look morally superior to anybody at all! I related Mr. Brocklehurst´s words to the film because both use the same ones: “Grace” and “Nature”. I would love to talk more about the character that Pitt plays, but… you need to watch it first!
    I will certainly watch “To live”. I haven´t seen any film of Kurosawa´s, so I think it is high time I watch one.
    TOday I´ve seen A week with Marilyn. It is a very nice film. She is gorgeous, Kennet Brannagh a perfect Laurence Olivier… Nice views of London, Windsor, Eton… I highly recommend it! A perfect film for a Sunday!


  15. Did you study music? How interesting! So does my sister. Sadly, Moldava and Mozart’s Requiem are not among my favorite pieces, although I find them adequate for a film like this. I am afraid I have very weird tastes. Not a long time ago, I was taken to a concert in which they played Smetana’s Moldava, and although they told the whole story (the sources, the hunting, the wedding party…) I still don’t like it. For me, it just sounds like a church song, I don’t know why… And Mozart Requiem is just church music…which now is used in a coffee advertisement…I don’t see the point. One of my favorite pieces is Sibelius’ Violin Concerto, which is not widely known and it’s said to be one of the most difficult to perform. I don’t know for what reason, but this concert makes me think about the Phantom of the Opera… I say this to provide an example of the strange working of my tastes…
    Well, I suppose that my friend has very conservative tastes, and he found the film utterly boring, that was what he said…
    I have not realized that Brad Pitt could have been a very good Saint John, thank you for mentioning it… it’s very curious. I didn’t like the last version of Jane Eyre, and I feel that the Billy Elliott’s boy was awfully miscasted as St.John…He was not handsome. He was not terrifying, he didn’t provide a feeling of holiness…he was just a silly teenager going into a tantrum…
    You haven’t seen any Kurosawa’s film? Go, and try to find one, it is worth. It is the most approachable of Japanese filmmakers. Ikiru can be a bit dull, and slow, perhaps you should initiate yourself whit a “lighter” film, like The Bloody Throne (a Japanese version of Macbeth), or Yojimbo, which was remade by Sergio Leone whit Clint Eastwood as A fistful of dollars (Por un puñado de dólares).

    Have a nice week.


  16. It is not Mozart’s but Priesner’s. I studied piano for twelve years, until I was 17, but all is gone now… “Church music”… Well I guess after reading your comment that you need to believe to like this music then? I think that classical music goes beyond religious beliefs even though the best pieces were composed to give tune to religious texts and churches were and still are the best scenarius. Now I don’t play the piano anymore but I sing and sing… “church music”, which I love because it touches my heart, rather than… Bisbal.
    I don’t have time to defend “church music” better, but I do want to remark it is the best music for me.
    Listen to the Lacrimosa by Priesner. It is simple, doesn’t stand out for its difficulty, but I find it simply beautiful.
    Have a nice day you too!


  17. How interesting! I didn’t know that composer…

    I think I didn’t explain it well. It is not about specific religious music (which I am not very found of it, by the way, I mean, the religious music), it’s the feeling that it inspires me… I am afraid I can not explain it better. Of course, there is much music beyond Bisbal and…such kind of thinks. What irks me is that they use music, fine music, for things that they shouldn’t use that for, like the Mozart’s Requiem in the Nexpresso comercial, or Delibes Lakmé’s the Aria of the Flowers in the British Airways commercial. And the list goes on, and on… And as I think as I told, some of my favorite music is classical music, like the Sibelius Concerto, Schoemberg’s Transfigured Nigth, Stravinsky’s Firebird and Rachmaninov’s Symphonies.
    I am fed up of this kind of music used in modern remixes, or in advs. This doesn’t make any sense. There is no point in this, Dvorak didn’t compose the Symphony of the New World to be used in a sausages adv.

    I think that now I have explained it better.

    Good nigth.


  18. I agree that it is outrageous that they use that glorious music in ads! With “Bisbal” I meant all the kind of “music” which is easy and mainly bad, not thought music, not even interesting lyrics, always the same tunes… BORING


  19. Check the Google Doodle of today!


  20. DICKENS!! Happy 200th birthday!! It was the best of times!!


  21. Mara a nd rosa, thanks for entertaining me this evening with your cultivation, you are indeed good as critics, I´m very impressed. I wnat to see the tree of life and will go to the Marylyn film, María, and I also liked the deer hunter very much, it was a sad film as I remember it, dramatic-tragic, but good, De Niro´s role superb.


  22. I´m ever so glad we entertained you! I would love to know what you think about The Tree of Life. I don´t know anyone who has seen it, except for a friend of mine, María, who said that in spite of the fact that it was terribly slow, she liked it… Though, to be honest, she always likes everything, anything… I was explaining her why I had liked it so much, remarking its connection with my fears and wishes in life, and she ended up telling me that I am “too sensitive” and, should it be other period of time when I was not as “sensitive”, I would not have loved it as much. From my point of view, I think I am always and all the time quite sensitive, fact that doesn´t slightly affect my taste when watching a film or whatever artistic representation; why she made that point I don´t know… I should like to believe that my judgement is more objective than subjective; that when I like something it is because I think it good enough for whatever reason, not just because I am “in the mood” or “too sensitive”! Don´t you agree?


  23. Well, I think it depends quite on your mood, and your tastes. I do not know you enough, but, usually, my tastes and likings are very strange and instinctive, I must admit that very often I like a thing not because is good, or it supposed to be good, but just it appeals to me and has something to say to me. Generally, I can not say if a thing is good or bad, but I can say very often if I like it or not. Taste is the most subjective thing in the world: you see it, and you fall into ecstasy; I see it, and I am just appalled.


  24. Just let me to finish with a quote from Igor Stravinsky, the musician: “Good taste is the best and rarest thing in the world. Bad taste is also a very good thing. What is terrible, is to not have any taste at all”.


  25. Forgive me for being so anoying, but I must say in adition that tastes can change as time goes, even in the same person. As a practical example, the first time that I saw The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari, it let me cold. The first time that I saw Dreyer’s Vampyr, I was appalled. And now, they are among my favourite films.

    Now, good nigth.


  26. Let me reflect about what you have just said… Taste is absolutely subjective, however, what I meant was not the opposite. I don´t share the opinion that if I liked the film it is only because I am too sensitive, at this particular moment?, according to my darling friend. I cannot really admit it is true, because I want to believe that I can identify that something is good without particularly like it. That is something that information and analysis bring about. When you know much about something (films for instance, technique, shots, music…), and thus are able to analyse it, you can base your opinion not just on personal taste, but on something more solid which supports the subjetivity of your opinion. Does it make any sense to you? Tastes can change indeed and that may be due to more knowledge. THe more I understand something, the more I like it. That happens to me with books. I am reading lots of books this year and I find poetry especially difficult. But with the help of secondary readings, I get to understand what the poets meant and thus like their poems. It is as the first time I read ‘To be or not to be’ speech in the EOI with Carmen, where I was able to like it because I understood it, thanks to her explanations. I am glad that now we can even discuss whether Hamlet was keen to take revenge or not! je je je
    night night to you too


  27. Well, María, I don’t know. I don’t know you enough to say that you are very sensitive, and because of that, you liked the film. Surely you are right, and, generally, you (I am talking in general), or any other people who watched it and liked it, it was not only because they were sensitive, but for some other reasons. But, in general, you need certain sensibility, as part of an audience, to like or dislike a particular thing. As much as you would need information to compare, and to judge, and critery, adn, of course, taste, I don’t know if I have explained it well.

    Have a nice weekend!


  28. Exactly.
    Have you seen A dangerous method? I am quite prejudiced against Keira Knightley (I never particularly liked her, but I think that she playing Lizzy BEnnett was outrageous) so I have refrained myself from seeing it because of… her. I should stop prejudicing to be able to enjoy a performance of hers which could have improved… So I should admit I am not too detached when seeing a film. Though that I liked The tree of life was completely unpremeditated


  29. No, I haven’t seen, but I have heard about it just the same that you say.



Leave a Reply

