h1

RELEASES! Albert Nobbs (2011), J. Edgar (2011) BASIC CLASSICS! In the name of the father (1993)

January 24, 2012

RELEASES: We can enjoy two recommended releases this weekend, both with proper names. There is an interesting British release, Albert Nobbs, the great Glenn Close’s project based on a theatrical play and directed by Rodrigo García (Gabriel García Márquez’s son). On the other hand, Clint Eastwood returns with a biopic about Edgar Hoover, a mysterious and powerful person who was the FBI director. Enjoin them!

Albert Nobbs [Albert Nobbs]-2011 Directed by Rodrigo García
Screenplay: Glenn Close, John Banville (based on the theatrical play “The singular life of Albert Nobbs”).
Cast: Glenn Close, Mia Wasikowska, Aaron Johnson, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Brendan Gleeson, Maria Doyle Kennedy, Janet McTeer, Brenda Fricker, Pauline Collins, Bronagh Gallagher
Genre: Drama
Length: 108 min.
Synopsis: Glenn Close plays a woman passing as a man in order to work and survive in 19th century Ireland. Some thirty years after donning men’s clothing, she finds herself trapped in a prison of her own making. IMDb.

REVIEWS: The New York Times has written:
http://movies.nytimes.com/2011/12/21/movies/albert-nobbs-movie-review.html
TRAILER (VOSE):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSeulZcn3wo

J. Edgar [J. Edgar]-2011 Directed by Clint Eastwood
Screenplay: Dustin Lance Black
Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Naomi Watts, Josh Lucas, Judi Dench, Armie Hammer, Ed Westwick, Dermot Mulroney, Lea Thompson, Jeffrey Donovan, Michael Gladis, Stephen Root
Genre: Drama | Biopic | Political
Length: 136 min.
Synopsis: As the face of law enforcement in America for almost 50 years, J. Edgar Hoover was feared and admired, reviled and revered. But behind closed doors, he held secrets that would have destroyed his image, his career and his life.IMDb.

REVIEWS: The Telegraph has written:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/filmreviews/9026020/J-Edgar-review.html

OFFICIAL WEB:
http://jedgarmovie.warnerbros.com/index.html

BASIC CLASSIC: I recommend again a film on the Filmoteca Española screen because Carmen reffered to it in class on Monday (and it is also a good movie), the acclaimed Jim Sheridan’s film In the name of the father [En el nombre del padre, 1993].

Cine Doré (Filmoteca Española), Santa Isabel 3 [Metro: Antón Martín]
Saturday 28th. 19:30h. Sala 1. VOSE. Price: 2’5 €.

In the name of the father [En el nombre del padre]-1993 Directed by Jim Sheridan
Screenplay: Terry George & Jim Sheridan (Novel: Gerry Conlon)
Cast: Daniel Day-Lewis, Emma Thompson, Pete Postlethwaite, John Lynch, Beatie Edney, Mark Sheppard, Don Baker, Frank Harper, Saffron Burrows, Tom Wilkinson, Gerard McSorley
Genre: Drama | Political
Length: 125 min.
Synopsis: Man’s coerced confession to an IRA bombing he didn’t do imprisons his father as well; a British lawyer helps fight for their freedom.IMDb.

REVIEWS: Time Out London has written:
http://www.timeout.com/film/reviews/76103/in-the-name-of-the-father.html

TRAILER (VO):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0ff5KjZ7vM

19 comments

  1. Good Evening:

    Albert Nobbs sounds interesting. The film about Edgar Hoover, like Margaret Thatcher, a very controversial, yet interesting and influential character, and which was expected to be a great hit, is now out of the Oscar Nominations Lists.

    In the Name of the Father is a hard, hard film about a real history retold without any kind of ornaments. I saw it many years ago.


  2. Thanks, Maria!
    I thought that releases in London were differents.
    Reading cinema information is a pleasure for me, I am an addict! I recommend this films following a criterium, that could be:

    1. British releases.
    2. Movies about British culture.
    3. Movies from USA, Australia or Canada (talking native English).
    4. Movies from another countries in English, like Sweden, German, France…

    I should like to see all the films but I do not have time so I choose the films looking the Spanish calendar of releases, reading reviews and looking for great classic films around the alternative screens (Filmoteca Española, Círculo de Bellas Artes, Museums, Institutes of Culture…)


  3. A very good comentary, and a very wise election for the films that you are going to review, Antonio. I would add a new cathegory, classic films (well, in fact, you have done it, when you are talking about the releases of filmes like Twelve Angry Men or In the Name of the Father).

    Thank you very much!


  4. What a horror film I have just seen! “Albert Nobbs” is… the worst I have seen this year so far. The film, meant to be a drama, a tragedy, pleading for tears that never come, is DULL. Glenn Close doesn´t look like a man at all but like a ghost… a zombie! She didn´t manage to move me a bit, nor did the rest of the cast. She is the producer, I have seen. I guess she always wanted to do this film and play the main character…, but honeslty, she´s ruined it. The story is not bad. But you need to tell the story deeply to fully understand their behaviour and the reason why they chose to have, as the doctor says, “such a miserable life”. There is a sexual appeal which I think is out of place. There is a point where you don´t know whether they are telling a story about lesbians or about the practical advantages of being a man. When Albert is at last going to be exposed -you seem to be waiting that moment all the film long-, it was so obvious that not even the doctor looks suprised at all! Mia Wasikowska is the best, which is not very difficult given the circumstances. Though she is very silly to believe that that childish “man” would take her away… Oh dear, perhaps it is that I expected a masterpiece -having into accounts all the good reviews…-, but, honestly and sorry to be so plain, this is bullshit. The other one that has also been nominated for the Oscars…, another failure. You can plainly see she is a woman…, we didn´t really need to see her boops. Anyway, now, if you see it after reading my review, perhaps you find it not as bad… I only warn you not to expect too much.


  5. Hi, Maria, I recommended this movie because is British but it was presented in Festival de San Sebastián (where I was) and the reviews were very hard with it. It is a pity because It was a very important Glenn Close’s project, she wanted realized it since early nineties! She found an efficient director (Gabriel García Márquez’s son, Rodrigo Garcia) but the results are not too nice to see. I had heard that Glenn Close’s characterizing is so strong that she looks like wearing a mask. It is so sad…

    Making good films is not to easy that it is seems. Every good movie is like a miracle.


  6. She is wearing a mask, definetely, that makes her pale, stiff and unblinking, there is no expression! When she laughs is as if she was stretching her face!!

    Indeed, good films are like miracles… Very good films are… one-off


  7. So, you didn’t like the film at all… Antonio, may I ask you if you have seen it? Because I was going to watch it, and now…I am not very sure…


  8. Rosa, watch it! It will be good to have another point of view! Let’s see if you agree with me…


  9. Rosa, I have not seen it! But its bad reviews does not persuade me.

    However, this films seems a good election if we want practice our English.


  10. Well, I’ll try. After all, we could have interesting conversations about this one…


  11. The conversation will be more interesting than the film itself, believe me!


  12. Thank you for information in the film club about “The name of the father”. I’ve been in the filmoteca and definitively it was great! It catches you from the first scene to the end. It makes clear how justice can be partial when politic pourposes are behind trials.Nothing new but it is very very well told in every single detail.
    Carmen (italian teacher)


  13. In Name of the Father , I have seen many years ago. A hard, hard film about a real history, retold in a powerful, harsh, direct way. I didn’t like it, because this is not the kind of films that I usually like, but is a good film, and if you like films based on real histories, sober, yet moving, this one is definitevely a film that you shouldn’t miss. And I think that it’s valuable to know the history about the problems between Ireland and United Kingdom.


  14. I have only recently watched the Leonardo di caprio one and I have liked it very much. He comes off as being rather weaker than he must have been in real life, I mean people must ahve feared him,but on the whole I have thought that Caprio is good at the different ages he has to represent, and the relationship between him and lover(???) I have found to be most interesting yet not too clearly defined , I would have risked a bit more here.


  15. I just wrote on the other thread that DiCaprio deserved the Oscar!!! He is brilliant, isn´t he? So believable at both roles, young and old. And I liked Naomi Watts too. The make up is so good!
    As to the relationship between them, I think that risking more would have made it be… superfitial or worse perverted. I mean, don´t you think it is very clear that they both were in love with one another? J Edgar was too weak and proud to admit it… He only admits his love for him before dying!! (Quite a scene… I particularly liked when he said that he knew he needed him -and also that he chose him in spite of the fact that he was not qualified for the job- because he perspired very much! je je funny). No, I wouldn´t have gone deeper because I think it was very well understood… J Edgar used to lie and believed his own lies, but some others he was well aware of, but not brave enough to do something about it…, one of them being his… femenine side… Clint Eastwood is such a good story-teller!


  16. A complicated and not very sympathetic character this Hoover. I have read some very weird things about him. I never regarded Di Caprio as a competent actor…just, stuff for teenagers, till I watched The Aviator. Altough I thougth he was not the best actor for the role, I saw there great potential for an actor. And I think he is improving with time. Just the same case of Brad Pitt.


  17. I think Di Caprio is a great actor and Brad Pitt too! Better than… George Clooney, for instance… Why do you say Di Caprio did stuff for teenagers? Which films do you mean? Titanic? Romeo and Juliet? But he was great in them too! What about The man with the iron mask, The Departed, Revolutionary Road or Blood Diamond?

    See this film, you are gonna be amazed…


  18. Precisely so, María. I don’t like films like Titanic and Romeo and Juliet (I have seen Titanic only ONCE and I didn’t see the entire film), because, for me, there are just girls and teenagers staff… Come on, I am thirty years old, I like when a film has little something more to offer me…The Man in the Iron Mask was sligthly (at least, it was entertaining, and had a very good cast) better,but I prefer the version with Gene Kelly and Lana Turner, and other with Michael York wich was shooted in Spain, and there is other made also in Spain with Christopher Lee and Kim Catrall (when she was very young). Even so, as I said, I think that Di Caprio has improved a lot in the last years, because he is not just a cute boy anylonger. Now, he is more an actor, and less a star. It is interesting when a star becomes an actor, yesterday I was seeing Manckiewic’s Cleopatra and thoutgh the same thing.

    The Departed Revolutionary, and Blood Diamond I haven’t seen them, but my mom saw this one in the cinema, and she said it was very good.

    Have a nice day.


  19. Well, J Edgar is not original, that’s true. Maybe this is not the most original film by Clint Eastwood, but this is a very good story about a very important man of American history whose personality just a few knew of.



Leave a Reply

