h1

LARS AND A REAL GIRL

June 20, 2008

I’m not a film critic, but I like a lot this movie and I decide that may be a good idea write about it because you won’t watch it on commercial cinemas. It is a north American production but it has the special taste that only independent films gave.  There aren’t big scenarios, but a good plot support an interesting comedy. Really, I’m not sure if that film is a comedy or a drama. It was all the time crossing a fine line that seems to have between comedy and drama, between laughter and tears. You are smiling about the situation and a moment after you feel sad. The difference in this film is that you feel like the characters and believe their situations rather than laugh at them. That is the key to this smart film.

So what’s it about? Lars Lindstrom (Ryan Gosling) is a not so much socially man who spends his days in a cubicle at work and his nights hiding out in the garage (turned apartment) he calls home. Ryan’s sister-in-law, Karin (Emily Mortimer), is worried about him, but Lars’ big brother, Gus (Paul Schneider), doesn’t think it’s something to be worried about. He changes his mind when Lars brings home a girlfriend. For Karin and Gus was a shock when they “meet” her. She’s Bianca, a life-sized and anatomically correct sex doll. Lars treats her exactly as he would a real woman, although that she doesn’t speak much English, is in a wheelchair, and is shy. Dr. Dagmar (Patricia Clarkson), the local psychologist, believes that the best approach to Lars’ delusion is to play along with it. Soon, the entire town is treating Bianca with respect, including Margo (Kelli Garner), a girl who is hoping Lars will dump Bianca for her…..The rest, it’s better you would go to see the film.

 

Only a curiosity. I don’t know who built the doll for the movie, but I went to www.realdoll.com to find her (you have to be 18 to go to that site…..), and the best I could come up with is that she’s something like a cross between the “Stephanie” and the “Stacy”.

Pilar Herrero. A That’s English student.
9 comments

  1. Wow, Pilar! Excellent English. No time now for some tips on mistakes, but great review! I’ll try to see it!
    Welcome!
    🙂


  2. Hey, by the way, how could you start a thread? I thought only registered people could… ?


  3. It was me that started this thread!


  4. OH! Great! You’re an expert now! 🙂


  5. I think it is not a comedy at all. I liked it but after watching it, you really don’t know why the main character behaves in that way.


  6. I´d like to watch it. Does somebody go with me?


  7. Hi!
    I went to see this film by sheer chance, and found the beginning very promising and funny, but got a bit disappointed (and slightly bored) as the plot developed.

    I agree with Roberto in the fact that it lacks some explanations on the behaviour of Lars… Sometimes, it seemed the film tried to tell us something, but didn’t achieve to… It is a pity indeed, 🙂 because the idea was very original and I have discovered a lot of things about these “real dolls”.

    Finally, men continue to astonish me, but I feel tenderness towards them after seeing such films: they really need us women 😉


  8. Language tip: “Does somebody go with me?” is not possible because the present simple usually indicates habits, routines, or kind of general “truths”. Invitations are usually expressed with “Would… like to”, so we could say, “Would anyone like to come with me?”

    I’m back on-line! 🙂


  9. ok! Thank you and welcome again!!



Leave a Reply

