h1

The Band’s Visit

April 16, 2008

My husband and I went to see “The Band’s visit”. The film is in three different languages: Hebrew, Arabic and English (with a strong accent). It is supposed to be a comedy but, in spite of having some funny moments, it isn’t really funny. We had heard good reviews about the film and as a result, we were a little disappointed. Both of us expected “more”. Neither the music, nor the photography is anything special.  When the film finished I asked myself: What has happened? because the point is that nothing happens. The plot is about some Egyptian musician who goes to Israel to give a concert but they get the wrong village. We saw the film in V.O. and sometimes I wasn’t able to distinguish when they were speaking in their native languages or in English, because of their strong accent. Nevertheless, it’s not very difficult English. I don’t want to tell you more about the plot or the locations just in case you are going to see the film.

One comment

  1. Hi Paloma,

    Thank you very much for your review. My boyfriend and I wanted to see the film last week-end but we didn’t finally go, so I think I wont go. We thought it was going to be interesting from a political point of vue but if nothing really happens on the films it is not worth seeing it



Leave a Reply

